NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



COUNCIL

Thursday, 18 May 2017

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY, 18 MAY 2017 AT 11:00 AM WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

Councillor Russell to propose and Councillor M Markham to second: "That Councillor Gareth Matthew Eales be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton Borough Council for the ensuing year."

After election, the Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mace Bearer will invest in the Mayor's Mayoress (Mrs Terrie Eales) with her chain of office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for his election.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor M Hill to propose and Councillor Stone to second:

"That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Christopher John Malpas and Mrs Lynne Malpas for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their time in office."

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Lane to propose and Councillor Meredith to second: "That Councillor Anthony John Gerald Patrick Ansell be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor."

After appointment the Deputy Mayor will make his declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mace Bearer will invest the Mayoress (Jayne Crofts) with her badge of office.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

5. APOLOGIES

6. LONG SERVICE

25 years' service:

Angela Lawrence

7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE CONSERVATIVE GROUP

Councillor Lane to announce:

"That Councillor Nunn be appointed Leader of the Conservative Group and Councillor Larratt be appointed Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group".

8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Russell to announce;

"That Councillor Stone be appointed Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Birch be elected Deputy Leader of the Labour Group".

9. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP

Councillor B Markham to announce:

"The Councillor Beardsworth be appointed Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group and Councillor Meredith Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group".

10. COUNCIL MEETINGS

The Mayor to propose: "That the Annual Meeting of the Council takes place on 17th May 2018 and that other meetings of the Council takes place 19th June, 10th July, 18th September, 6th November, 11th December 2017, 22nd January, 26th February, 12th March, 23rd April, 4th June and 9th July 2018.

11. COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

(Copy herewith)

12. CABINET

The Leader of the Council to announce the appointments of Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members for 2017-18. (Copy herewith)

13. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

(Copy herewith)

14. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

(Copy herewith)

15. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

Civic Matters (Chief Executive)

The Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, The Immediate Past Mayor, the Leader and Councillor McCutcheon.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (Chief Executive):

Councillors Kilbride (Chair) and Councillors Walker, Malpas, Birch and Stone

Constitution Review Working Party (Borough Solicitor)

Councillors Larratt (Chair) Oldham, Culbard, Russell and Beardsworth

Markets Advisory Panel

Councillor Larratt, Hadland and Stone

Discretionary Housing Payments Review Panel (Chief Executive)

Councillor Eldred and Hibbert Councillor Ashraf and Davenport Councillor Beardsworth

The Guildhall Northampton

D. Kennedy Chief Executive

Democratic Services: e-mail democraticservices@northampton.gov.uk

Tel 01604 837722

Mail Democratic Services

Northampton Borough Council

The Guildhall St Giles Square

Northampton NN1 1DE